Cold Oatmeal and Food Ruts

Image

I’m sitting here in my bathrobe, eating lukewarm oatmeal for dinner because it’s 10pm and the cupboards are mostly empty and the idea of cooking, and having to wash more dishes, makes me want to run screaming from my home and adopt a primitive, nomadic, dish-less lifestyle worthy of a TLC reality show. I haven’t had a chance to get to the grocery store this week and over the past too distracted by other responsibilities–taking care of the baby, running a business–to plan meals in advance like I usually do.

In situations like this one, I end up in a food rut, falling back on the same three or four unexciting dishes until either my husband or I start complaining enough to motivate me to get to the store. This week, we’ve mostly been eating peanut butter toast, some combination of lentils and rice, and a mediocre vegetable soup made from last week’s leftover produce haul.

I guess the point of this post is that I’m shaping up to be a sad, uninspiring food blogger. What are your token “in a food rut” meals? What do you do to break out of your ruts? 

Also, this oatmeal isn’t half bad: brown sugar, cinnamon, peanut butter, chocolate chips. Give it a try next time you find yourself standing in your kitchen in your bathrobe, with low blood sugar, staring at a nearly empty fridge. 

5 thoughts on “Cold Oatmeal and Food Ruts

  1. I know what you mean about food ruts! It’s easy to make the same things again and again, especially when they’re quick and easy. At my house our most common dinners are a big salad and bread, lentils with sautéed collards and baked french fries, various kinds of tacos, and various kinds of pizza. It’s definitely good to shake things up and make new things to keep mealtime interesting, especially since we don’t have loads of restaurant options. I’ll keep your oatmeal in mind next time I’m hungry and don’t know what to make! 🙂

  2. My food rut food is pretty much just toast. Toast, and then more toast. The trouble is, toast is really delicious and really simple, and once you start having toast for lunch or dinner, it’s hard to pull yourself away from its delicious carby embrace…

    Also, that oatmeal combo sounds awesome to me. I love oatmeal!

  3. As someone who’s eaten raw oats for dinner countless times, I get where you’re coming from. Sometimes those lazy dinners are my favorite! So homey and delicious.

    My dinner tonight? A pan-fried tortilla with EB & cinnamon sugar, raisin bran, and carrots with salsa. All lazy. All good.

Leave a Reply

