Paula Deen Goes Vegan #1: Banana Coffee Muffins

Let’s ignore the fact that I’m failing the whole “post every day” part of VeganMoFo and move on to the muffins.

For my first Paula Deen challenge, I decided to forego the deep fried, bacon-wrapped, lard-marinated butter balls and go with something simple–these banana coffee muffins.

The only animal ingredients in these are, as in many baked goods, eggs and butter. I replaced the egg with 1/3 cup of soymilk whisked with 1 tsp. apple cider vinegar.  Since bananas already act as a binder, I figured I mostly needed to replace the moisture and leavening components an egg provides. For the melted butter, I substituted canola oil. While I appreciate earth balance and other vegan “butters”, I also like to use minimally processed ingredients, when possible. I used whole wheat pastry flour because I ran out of all-purpose, and replaced the nuts with chocolate chips, because my husband loves chocolatey-banana things and who am I to stand in the way of that love?

The result: Good, but not perfect. I’m a big fan of the marriage of banana, coffee and chocolate and these taste just decadent enough to feel like a treat without being overwhelmingly rich. Really nice paired with a homemade latte!

The biggest problem with the recipe was that they didn’t rise much or get fluffy the way a muffin usually would. I think the soy milk made the batter a little too wet, which I could have counteracted by adding a bit more flour. Next time, I will also try adding a teaspoon or so of baking powder, which should help leaven them a bit more. I may cut back on the oil by a tablespoon or two because I thought they tasted pretty greasy. But this is a Paula Deen recipe we’re talking about, so maybe that’s intentional.

 

Veganizing a recipe almost always takes trial and error but I’m enjoying the challenge! Next time I think I’ll tackle a more ambitious Paula recipe–maybe an entree?

One thought on “Paula Deen Goes Vegan #1: Banana Coffee Muffins

  1. First of all, Yum.
    Secondly, I am also failing at posting every day. I started to try to sneek blogging in at night when I can.
    And third, I like your idea of veganizing Paula Deen’s recipes. As a person, she cracks me up… and I love comfort food. Her sans-meat entrees would make yummy vegan dishes. Like her tomato pie … I’ve never had one, but it sounds pretty good (if it were made vegan).
    I very much enjoyed this post!

Leave a Reply

